Twisted Sister to Release Live Album


Available 5 August

2016 will see rock legends Twisted Sister call time on live performances after 40 years. So if you want to catch JayJay and the guys one more time before that final curtain, you’d better get your skates on!

Alternatively, you can order your copy of Twisted Sister – Metal Meltdown Live at The Hard Rock Casino Las Vegas – A Concert To Honour AJ Pero, which will be released on 5 August.  Recorded at the first Metal Meltdown concert series back in May 2015, Twisted Sister performed an explosive 90 minute concert featuring their biggest hits from 40 years in rock. The show was dedicated to the memory of the band’s iconic drummer A.J. Pero, who’s sudden death just two months before this show shocked the music world.

The band dedicated the remainder of their 2015 concerts to A.J, and announced that 2016 would mark the 40th and final year of their legendary live performances. Mike Portnoy (The Winery Dogs, Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold) was recruited to take the reins on drums, and his very first Twisted Sister appearance was captured by the Metal Meltdown camera crew.

As Twisted Sister guitarist JayJay French explains, “The decision to continue performing all the summer shows in 2015, not to mention the concert that this performance celebrates, was in jeopardy over the days immediately following A.J.’s sudden death. We needed time to re-group and re-focus. Everyone was great. All the promoters of the huge European summer festivals that we were set to headline and Barry, the producer of this concert said, ‘We understand. You all (meaning the band) have to do what makes you comfortable. Whatever the band decides has to be honoured and respected.”

“In the end, I believe we did what A.J. would have wanted us to do and Mike Portnoy was a very big part of that decision in both an emotional and artistic way. This performance captured herein just two months after A.J.’s death really was about our way to help memorialize the great A.J. Pero. The front four (Dee, Eddie, Mark and I) have had no one but A.J. behind us since 1982. This concert has A.J.’s influence permeating through our bloodstream in ways that I will never forget and when we cut to A.J.’s drum solo on the rear projection screen, We were all emotionally overwhelmed. Not since our reunion for NY Steel in 2001 (to honor and raise money for the families of the NYC police and fire department who died on 9/11) have I been moved to tears.”

In addition to the complete concert, the BluRay and DVD contains Rockshow, a bonus documentary that takes fans through the band’s 40-year ride from local club outcasts to world domination. There’s also exclusive interviews, archive footage from the ‘80s and a photo gallery. The concert will also be available on CD.

So, as a little taster of what to expect, check out We’re Not Gonna Take It below. And turn up the volume!


1  What You Don’t Know
2  The Kids Are Back
3  Stay Hungry
4  The Beast
5  Shoot ‘Em Down
6  You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll
7  I Believe In Rock ‘N’ Roll
8  Under The Blade
9  I Am (I’m Me)
10  We’re Not Gonna Take It
11  The Fire Still Burns
12  The Price
13  Burn In Hell
14  A.J. Pero Tribute
15  I Wanna Rock
16  Come Out and Play
17  S.M.F.

Tour dates

31 July Rock The City, Romania
5 August Porispere, Finland
6 August Wacken Open Air, Germany
12 August Bloodstock Open Air, UK